Where does your hope lie?

Where is your hope focused on? Is it focused on the future and the promise of the unknown? Or is it focused on God, the one Who has plans to prosper us and not to harm us. Is your hope a dream you have had for your entire life or is your hope the One who gives us the desires of our hearts?

“A hope deferred makes the heart sick, but a desire fulfilled is a tree of life”

Proverbs 13:12 (NASB)

I have been thinking about that for the past week.  I have found my self in a place of hope deferred. I tend to look ahead, look forward to what is to come, and sometimes look forward to things that are not set in stone but things I would like to happen or ways I picture our life going. So much so that I put my hope in things that are not a guarantee  which is basically setting myself of to be disappointed… Who am I to put expectations on God’s plans for my life…WOAH now Brittney! During this time I have realized that the focus of my hope and the who of my hope has lost focus, I have been focusing on the promise of these things yet to come on what tomorrow holds.

“So do not worry about tomorrow; for tomorrow will care for itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

Matthew 6:34 (NASB)

I have not been doing this. I have been planning and looking forward to what tomorrow holds instead of living each day to the fullest in what The Lord has for me in that day. I have been waiting for this BIG AHA moment, a moment of “I have arrived” I have been waiting for my life to begin. Instead of rejoicing in a new day the Lord has made I have been rejoicing the days that are still to come…

Reality check… I am alive, my life started September 24, 1987 in Athens Georgia… And God new my days before the foundations of the earth!

“Your eyes have seen my unformed substance; And in Your book were all written the days that were ordained for me, When as yet there was not one of them.”

Psalm 139:16 (NASB)

What have I been waiting for… Well I know one thing I have been waiting for is my purpose I have been grasping at any and everything that comes along that I feel will give me purpose, all except for the one thing that gives me life and purpose and that is JESUS!

“For I know the plans I have for you declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not for calamity to give you a future and a HOPE.”

Jeremiah 29:11 (NASB)

“The thief comes only to steal kill and destroy; I came that they may have life, and have it abundantly.”

John 10:12 (NASB)

I have been believing the lies the enemy has been whispering in my ears… That my lifes purpose is what I can do with my hands, that I will have life in big moments…. And only in big moments. The truth is that my purpose is to seek God to let Him reveal the abundant life He has for me! I am His daughter and he gives me the desires of my heart!

“Delight yourself in the Lord; and He will give you the desires of your heart.”

Psalm 37:4 (NASB)

My heart aches for the truth and fullness of what hope is in the hands of my Father. His perfect love casts out fear…

“There is no fear in love; but perfect love casts out fear, because fear involves punishment, and the one who fears is not perfected in love.”

1 John 4:18 (NASB)

 and for me the fear of the unknown is huge. I plan and plan what my future and my families future will look like, to make it something comfortable instead of something unsure and unknown. The future is slightly uncomfortable for me, I want to know what is to come so I can prepare myself for it and not experience any surprises so that I can be comfortable. But the Lord has so many bigger plans and purposes for me then I can even make up for myself. His thoughts for me out number the sand!! HOLY COW! I am yet again found awestruck by His love for me. God is my comforter, He comes along side me and helps me through the tough times and rejoices with me through the good times! He is with me on the mountain tops and He is with me in the valleys, He is there with me while sowing the seeds and He is with me in the time of harvesting. He is the same yesterday, today and tomorrow. His love for me never ceases… If his eye is on the sparrow then I know He watches me…. He came to give me life and life abundantly, believing anything contrary to that will get me in trouble. In my weakest moments it is very hard to not to get in the flesh and to hear the enemy’s voice over the the voice of my Father. The lies he whispers are just enough to get me into a tail spin of thinking of the what if’s and shoulda, coulda, wouldas… But when I dwell on the truths I have listed and just stand firm in the words of my Heavenly father He lifts me up and helps me out of the pit. He truly is amazing!

Thank you Abba for never giving up on me! Thank you for your lovingkindness that is new ever morning! Thank you for picking me up when I fall and for holding me up when I cannot stand on my own!

I will give thanks to You!

45 Basics Master

